Domnica Radulescu Photo : Jamie Morgan


HOLA HOLA awards Exile is my Home: On August 23rd The Hispanic Organization of Latin Actors (HOLA), the nation’s longest running active arts advocacy organization for Latino actors, announced that Noemí de la Puente, Mario Golden, Vivienne Jurado, Mirandy Rodríguez, Nikaury Rodríguez and David van Leesten had been awarded the Outstanding Performance by Ensemble Cast for their performance in Exile is My Home. The HOLA Award ceremony took place on Wednesday, November 2, 2016 at the Flamboyán Theater, at The Clemente Soto Vélez Cultural and Educational Center, in Lower Manhattan, NYC. Congratulations to our wonderful cast!

HOLA
HOLA awards

"I navigate several languages and disciplines on a daily basis. I move from my native Romanian, from which I uprooted myself in search of freedom, to the French in which I teach theater and poetry. I travel from the treasures of the Italian Renaissance, to my beloved adopted English as I write fiction, plays, and books of literary criticism." :
Domnica Radulescu - creative artist, writer of fiction, playwright, theater director and literary critic.
Domnica Radulescu is the Edwin A. Morris Professor of French and Italian literature at Washington and Lee University, and is a consultant with the Romanian Studies Association of America. She is the author of two best-selling novels: Black Sea Twilight and Train to Trieste. Train to Trieste has been published in twelve languages and is the winner of the 2009 Library of Virginia Fiction Award. Her play The Town with Very Nice People: A Strident Operetta has been chosen as a runner up for the 2013 Jane Chambers Playwriting award and she is presently working on her fourth novel titled My Father’s Orchards.
red azalea cover Country of Red Azaleas : a riveting novel about two women-one Serbian, one Bosnian-whose deep friendship spans decades and continents, war and peace, love and estrangement, in the vein of Elena Ferrante and Julia Alvarez.
From the moment Marija walks into Lara's classroom, freshly moved to Serbia from Sarajevo, Lara is enchanted by her vibrant beauty, confidence, and wild energy-and knows that the two are destined to be lifelong friends. Closer than sisters, the girls share everything, from stolen fruit and Hollywood movies as girls to philosophies and even lovers as young women. But when the Bosnian War pits their homelands against each other in a bloodbath, Lara and Marija are forced to separate for the first time: romantic Lara heads to America with her Hollywood-handsome new husband, and fierce Marija returns to her native Sarajevo to combat the war through journalism behind Bosnian lines.
In America, Lara seeks fulfillment through work and family, but when news from Marija ceases, the uncertainty torments Lara, driving her on a quest to find her friend. As Lara travels through war-torn Serbia and Bosnia, following clues that may yet lead to the flesh-and-blood Marija, she must also wrestle with truths about her own identity.

Told in lush, vivid prose, Country of Red Azaleas is a poignant testament to both the power of friendship and our ability to find meaning and beauty in the face of devastation. Country of Red Azaleas is out now, in bookstores and for order online.
exile is my home
Exile is My Home : Domnica Radulescu's play Exile is My Home was produced by the iconic Theater for the New City, located in Manhattan’s Lower East Side and headed by co-founder and Executive Artistic Director Crystal Field, with Andreas Robertz directing. The show enjoyed a four week run (16 performances) premiering on April 28th 2016 and featured a stellar cast — composed of seasoned New York actors Mario Golden, A.B. Lugo, Vivienne Jurado, Mizan Kirby-Nunes, Noemi de la Puente, Mirandy Rodriguez, and David Van Leesten. The play has its own dedicated website at ExileismyHome.com.
Train to Trieste
Train to Trieste : In the summer of 1977, seventeen-year-old Mona Manoliu falls in love with Mihai, a green-eyed boy who lives in Brasov, the romantic mountain city where she spends her summers. But under the Ceausescu dictatorship, paranoia infects everyone; soon Mona begins to suspect that Mihai is part of the secret police. As food shortages worsen and her loved ones begin to disappear, Mona realizes that she too must leave. Over the next twenty years, she struggles to bury her longing for the past, yet she eventually finds herself compelled to return, determined to learn the truth about her one great love. Domnica Radulescu's first novel has now been translated into twelve languages.
Black Sea Twilight
Black Sea Twilight : 1980s Romania: As the sun sets on the magical shore of the Black Sea and casts its last rays across the water, all Nora Teodoru can think about is pursuing her dream of becoming an accomplished artist - and of her love for Gigi, her childhood boyfriend from the Turkish part of town. But storm clouds are gathering as life under Dictator Nicolae Ceausescu becomes increasingly unbearable. His secret police are circling, never far from the young couple's doors. Nora and Gigi make plans to escape to Turkey. But nothing can prepare them for the events that follow...
Instagram